Manor, Belangee, Snider Earn All-State Honors

Seniors Lexie Manor and Grace Belangee, first-year partners at No. 1 doubles for the Eagles, capped off a great season by being chosen to the All-State Doubles Second Team.  The voting was done Saturday, June 10 in Indianapolis by the Indiana High School Tennis Coaches Association statewide panel of raters.

Junior Ellie Snider was selected All-State Singles Second Team, also.  She finished 17-8 at No. 1 singles.

Senior Emma Snider was chosen All-State Singles Honorable Mention.  Senior Kortney Helm and junior Mayzie Hinkle made All-State Doubles Honorable Mention.

The Eagles earned Team Academic All-State by compiling a combined varsity grade-point average of 3.65.  Belangee, Helm and Emma Snider all earned Academic All-State Honorable Mention.

Manor and Belangee finished 21-4 at No.1 doubles, including a straight-set win in the State Finals over Jasper.  The top 10 doubles teams in the state were chosen First Team, with the next 10 being Second Team.  There were more than 600 varsity doubles teams in Indiana this spring, with only the top 20 earning All-State.

The No. 1 doubles team for Delta has been selected All-State Doubles an amazing 37 times in boys’ and girls’ tennis.

Belangee, who played varsity singles her first three seasons, finished with 78 career wins, which ranks tied for third all-time in Delta girls’ tennis.  Manor played varsity doubles her last two seasons and two years of JV play.

Ellie Snider has been chosen All-State Second Team two years in a row in singles.  The top 15 players make First Team with the next 15 being Second Team.  There are more than 900 varsity singles players in Indiana, with only the top 30 making All-State.

Seventeen DHS Tennis players — 12 boys and five girls — have been chosen All-State Singles over the years.  There have been 10 Eagles who have made All-State Singles more than once:  Hayley Hall (4 times), Zach Ervin (4 times), Ben Bryan (3 times), Andy Rector (twice), Kaus Christopher (twice), Alison Peckinpaugh (twice), Billy Ruxton (twice), JD Greenlee (twice),  Alec Robilliard (twice), and now Ellie Snider (twice).

Complete list of this year’s All-State teams