One Win Away from 25 Straight Sectionals

After a 5-0 shutout victory over Muncie Central on Wednesday in the opening round of the Delta Sectional, the Eagles are just one win away from their 25th straight sectional championship.

Yorktown and Burris will meet at 4:45 p.m. Thursday, with the winner then advancing to play Delta at 11 a.m. Saturday in the finals.  Neither Yorktown nor Burris has ever won a boys’ tennis sectional title.

Delta (16-4) has won every boys’ tennis sectional title since 1993.  The current streak of 24 in a row is the fourth-longest active streak in Indiana.

Munster 36
Floyd Central 30
Silver Creek 27
Delta 24

The Eagles dropped only seven games total to Muncie Central.  Jason Wegener won 6-2, 6-1 over Erich Ong. Ben Bamidele and Tanner Southerland each lost only one game.  Tannon Dishman and Joel Ashman won 6-1, 6-0 as Dishman cracked nine aces.  Michael Curtis and Mason Knight won 6-0, 6-1 as Curtis smashed nine overheads over the fence.